Menu Close

Phillip Mink

Term Assistant Professor, Director of Pre-Law Advising


George Mason University
Research Hall
Fairfax, VA 22030



Before joining George Mason University, Phillip Mink was an assistant professor of English and Legal Studies at the University of Delaware, and he was director of the Legal Professional Preparatory Program, an initiative designed to create a national network of lawyers, law students, undergraduates, and faculty. Phillip was also faculty adviser to the HenLaw Society, Delaware’s pre-law organization, and to Delaware’s award-winning Mock Trial team. As the university’s principal pre-law advisor, he counselled students on every aspect of the law school application process, and his advisees were accepted to Harvard, Columbia, the University of Chicago, the University of Virginia, Duke, Georgetown, and many other institutions. In spring 2017 he received the University Faculty Senate’s Excellence in Undergraduate Academic Advising and Mentoring Award. In addition to advising, Phillip developed and taught two legal writing courses designed to prepare students for law school and the practice of law. He also developed a course aimed at preparing students for the LSAT, and another course that provided students with the physical and verbal skills prized by litigators.

Phillip’s main research interest is writing pedagogy, and he has presented papers at the Association for Business Communication, the Conference on College Composition and Communication, and the Northeast Association of Pre-Law Advisers, where he is a board member. 

Prior to his teaching career, Phillip practiced law in Washington, D.C., where his primary clients were the seven Baby Bell telephone companies, the successor corporations to AT&T. On their behalf he published in The Wall Street JournalLegal Times, The Journal of Commerce, and other periodicals. He also filed briefs with the U.S. Supreme Court, the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals, the Federal Communications, and other venues, and he testified before the House Energy and Commerce Committee and the Senate Subcommittee on Antitrust.